The British Army’s Duke of Lancaster’s Regiment is the infantry regiment of the North-West of England. It consists of two Regular Army Battalions (1 LANCS and 2 LANCS) and one Army Reserve Battalion (4 LANCS). The Regiment was formed on 1st July 2006 by amalgamating the King’s Own Royal Border Regiment, the King’s Regiment and the Queen’s Lancashire Regiment. The Regiment’s Colonel in Chief is Her Majesty the Queen, the Duke of Lancaster. The Regimental nickname is the ‘Lions of England’.